Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
25 Jan

Cheap Ray Ban Sunglasses Learn to laugh

Published by cheapoakley

I tried everything. First, I ignored it, then got down on all fours and frantically tugged at the corners of the rug, making my shih tzus nervous. I turned the rug vertical, then at a diagonal before seriously considering a replacement. Finally, I just surrendered to the wrinkle in my rug, accepting it as my own, not so much a flaw as a mark of character.

It dawned on me that perhaps we all do the same thing with our faces, not aging gracefully, but instead allowing our compulsive nature to fixate on wrinkles in the mirror.

If the rug is a metaphor, Cheap Ray Ban Sunglasses I know that continuously ignoring that little wrinkle will lead to a deeper, more permanent situation very much like avoiding the hundreds of anti-wrinkle serums on the market.

The scientists proclaim, as we age, that skin loses elasticity, collagen, blah, blah, blah, and yakety-yak. We know already. I also know that a few months ago, if I had Cheap Real Oakley sunglasses used preventive measures like taping the corners of the rug to my hardwood floor or using a rug liner, I would be writing about Reese Witherspoon’s romantic waves on the cover of Cheap Prada Sunglasses China Harper’s Bazaar or Jennifer Aniston’s Golden Globes updo rather than obsessing over my wrinkled rug.

The moral is quite simple: Why not embrace those laugh lines if you are in your 40s, 50s and beyond? Just laugh back at them with help from collagen-plumping night serums, light-diffusing day creams and, if you dare, a bit of Botox. Might I suggest big sunglasses? If you are in your 20s and 30s, avoid the sun, using SPF in everything, and take precautions now for the skin you will grow old with later.

I find myself pausing longer in the mirror these days, pulling at the corners of my eyes with my fingers for a glimpse of a younger me. Of course, I slather on my potions and magic from the arsenal of weapons in my bathroom in the morning and at night, even though most days I feel time is winning the battle.

Most days, I love seeing my mama’s heavy eyelids, a hint of Daddy’s aging, softer profile, and I think to myself how endearing my older face has become.

After all, the alternative would be not having the rug, even with the wrinkle.

Comment on this post